“An Ounce of Mother is Worth a Pound of Clergy.”


“An ounce of mother is worth a pound of clergy,”  According to “A Pilgrims
Almanac”, by Edward Hays, this bit of folk wisdom reminds us of what we easily
forget – that our parents, and especially our mothers, are the arch-teachers of
our religious values.  They are the first examples we observe of how to live out
our faith.  The daily living of our religious values is not complicated and does
not require a degree in theology.  Teaching these faith-based values requires
only great love and self-discipline.  Parents, if they are willing to live out
their faith, can be the most inspiring teachers their children will ever have.
An old adage points the way, “Good students study their text.  Truly good
students study their teacher.”  Each of us is a teacher, and we teach our best
lessons when we are not talking or attempting to teach; when we are unaware that
anyone is studying us.  Abraham Lincoln said, “There is just one way to bring up
a child in the way he should go, and that is to travel that way yourself.”

I recall clearly the moment when I realized I had grown up cultivating
the faith of my mother.  She was the one who made sure we were ready for Sunday
services and met all of our obligations set by our faith tradition  As I grew
up, I adopted many of her prayer practices; the rosary, novenas and a similar
basket filled with favorite prayer booklets and holy cards.  As a spiritual
adult I am blessed to now have ownership of my faith.  It is no longer the faith
handed down to me by my parents, especially my mother.  It’s my own faith.  I
share it with my family and teach it mostly by example.  My prayer is that my
children will one day say, the faith of their mother is now their own.

What is the source of your faith?  Ponder its origins.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol Marceaux
    May 05, 2013 @ 08:02:21

    Very good article, tthanks true what you said, I did the same thing, and I was so fortunate that I had my Mother and her Mother and now I see my Daughter doing what we as women did for our children.  Thanks for the emails.  Enjoy them. 

    God Bless Carol 

    ________________________________

    Reply

  2. Robin Hebert
    May 06, 2013 @ 10:13:57

    Joan,
    Thanks for your words. I passed them on to both of my daughters, trusting that they will be led to reflect not only on their own heritage but also the difference their own modeling will make on their kids…they have four daughters between them. I pray that they each find their own authentic spiritual grounding…and that nothing gets in the way of their true destiny as women, mothers and daughters of God.

    Reply

  3. martin145@aol.com
    May 06, 2013 @ 16:35:06

    Joan,

    I really like! Thanks, especially the quote of Abraham Lincoln and your mother’s example. Peace. Fr. Mouton

    Reply

  4. Michael Tramel
    May 06, 2013 @ 17:28:58

    Thank you Joan, your message made me reflect for an enjoyable moment dear memories of my wonderful mom. God bless you!

    Reply

  5. Ya
    May 10, 2013 @ 14:47:52

    Knowing my aunt make this even more beautiful and meaningful. I know she is proud of the stides you have made in faith and live if people

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 136 other followers

