Spiritual Journaling


Spiritual journaling is the writing of your spiritual history as you walk toward a more intimate union with God. 

To put it simply, spiritual journaling is writing your prayers.  Over the years we have been given very beautiful and inspiring prayers by others to speak to God.  I believe he wants to hear our prayer, our praise, our petitions in our own words. 

As you journal your prayer conversations with God you will see over time how you are growing your spirituality.  I began my first spiritual journal in 1983.  It was very simple and was filled with me asking God for something or for him to fix a situation.  It may had to do with my husband Brad, or my children, Macy and Sarah.  It could have been about a co-worker, friend or member of my family.  As I wrote about the situation or person, I noticed that something was changing.  The circumstance or person may still be the same, but the problem was bothersome to me any longer. 

I felt different after writing in my journal.  I realized that God was working  with me to change my spirit, my heart, my attitude towards the situation I’d written about.

This was the kind of praying that had an effect on all of my Christian attitudes and beliefs about God answering prayer.

I knew that journaling was to be a big part of my prayer life and it is still today.  I can look back through many years of journals and see all the moments in my life where God was present, all the wonderful things he has done for me and especially when he was next to me in crisis and trials. 

When I received him as my Lord and Savoir, he wrote my name in his Book of Life.  I believe it is only fitting that he fills the pages of the my life journals. 

So, how about it, are you willing to give it a try?  It’s easy, just pick up a pen and tell him how you feel about him and then listen for his answer!!

Give Spiritual Journaling a try and your prayer life may never be the same.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kyle Cheng
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 02:23:43

    Amen! 🙂 I write prayers in my journal, but a lot of other things too. x) I have grown so much from writing! It truly is a blessing from God. 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

