Why are you here? What’s your purpose?


Thopmas Merton, a Trappist Monk and renowed spiritual writer had an answer to the title quetions.  I believe it applies to each of us as well.

“I have my own special, peculiar destiny which no one else ever has had or ever will have.  There exists for me a particular goal, a fulillmemnt which must be all my own – nobody elses.  My own individual detiny is a meeting, an encounter with God that He has destined for me alone.  His glory in me will be to receive from me something He can never receive from anyone else – because it is a gift of His to me which He has never given to anyone else and never will.  My whole life is only that – to establish taht particular constant with God which is the one He has planned for my eternity!”

(Echoing  Silence,  Thomas Merton

Leave a Reply

