Padre Pio, why I like him.


During a session with my Spiritual Director today, we talked about my admiration for St. Pio of Pietrelcina.  He was canonized June 12, 2002.  Most people still call him Padre Pio.  He bore the stigmata for 50 years and among many gift, he was able to read souls.  Many people have told of their confessions to St. Pio where he reminded them of sins that had not been confessed.  I have always believed him to be a priest from whom you could hide nothing.  Just like we cannot hide anything from God.  We go to him and bare our soul of every sin and shame, and receive the forgiveness we desire.

I remember going to confession as a young girl wanting to make a “good confession” but intentionally left out the “bad stuff” because I was ashamed and didn’t want to reveal everything, lest the priest think poorly of me.  I didn’t realize then all that was required was a repentant heart and forgiveness for all my terrible sins (how terrible could they have been for a young girl) was my gift.

St. Pio and his special gift of reading souls is a reminder to me to always be authentic when I come to the presence of God; to always be willing to bear all and give him everything, the good as well as the bad.  He calls me to be honest in all things, especially in my confession, in my acknowledgment of my sin and in my struggle for a deeper faith.  It is only when we are honest with God that we can be truly honest with ourselves about the way our lives are going.

I always say Padre Pio is my “go-to saint”.  When I want to get clear, take a really hard look in the mirror and see myself as God sees me, I think of Pio and his ability to read through the “masks” and get to the heart of the matter.

Turn to him, ask him for a direct look at the real.  Then allow God to do the rest.

Leave a Reply

