What to do when you can’t pray.


I had an experience last evening of not being able to pray when I was called to pray.  A funeral home near me called to ask that I come and pray the rosary for a family.  They call regularly to ask for a Rosary in English and French too.  I had been running around all day with errands, chores, and trying to write.  I hurriedly got in the car to arrive just before the appointed 7:00 time for the recitation of the rosary.  I asked our Blessed Mother Mary and God on the way to help me “turn off” my frantic mind and “please, just let me pray”.  Well I did pray the rosary with this grieving family; but I had to fight all the distracting thoughts of things I still had left to finish up at home.  Mid-way through the rosary, I felt God’s presence and was able to “really pray” the rosary with this family.  What a blessing!!  Even in the midst of all my distractions.  Imagine that.

The message here is, I believe, even when we feel many distractions to prayer, we should be diligent and pray anyway; even when we don’t feel like it.  I believe God calls us to prayer even when the spiritual high feelings are not evident.  The key to deepening our relationship is to show up and be present so that God can bless us with grace and peace.  It would have been easy to decline the request from the funeral home, I did have alot to do, but I answered the call, and was able to feel God helping me to pray, even when I didn’t feel I was able to.  Stand Faithful!!!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 07:14:16

    Lovely post that speaks to the importance of a spiritual practice. 🙂

    Reply

  2. SR
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 11:06:54

    Thank you for sharing this. A reminder that no matter what is going on in our lives, prayer will be and always is the most important of it all. God Bless, SR

    Reply

  3. Connie Sittig
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 09:57:42

    I have those situations at times. I just have to stop, “readjust” my mind, ask God to please get me back on track, and continue on. I pray the rosary every weekday morning on my way to work. Some mornings I have to try really hard to make it meaningful and not just something I do every morning.

    Reply

  4. Tiffany D
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 13:18:24

    With three small children, I so get this! I often times ask God to speak to me through the many distractions. Thanks for the reassurance that I am not alone on this journey: we all share the same struggles at times.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

