Keeping a Cajun Prayer Tradition Alive


I thought you might appreciate a bit of background on how the CD of the French Rosary began.

It was the last thing I could do for my grandfather, Don Louis Theriot and I was unable to do it.  The rosary was being prayed during his wake in May, 1985 and I could not pray it.  It was being prayed in French.  I had heard these familiar prayers all my life, but had never learned them by heart.  The sadness that overcame me was profound; but then was replaced with a resolute heart that was determined to learn my prayers in French for him.

A few weeks later, I obtained a cassette tape of the Rosary prayed in French by an elderly gentleman praying it at the bedside of his dying wife.  I wore out this tape, rewinding it over and over, till I was able to pray my rosary in French with ease.  I quickly realized that praying these sacred prayers was more meaningful to me than praying in English.  God blessed my effort by enabling me to pray the Rosary in French for my Mother, Luda Bernis-Theriot, when she died the following year, in March 1986.

I have been praying the rosary in French for the last 25 years.  Several funeral homes call me to come and recite the Rosary for the deceased; a true blessing for me.  It seems there are not many people left who still pray their rosary in French; and as I pray it, in Cajun French.

In an effort to encourage others to learn this beautiful Cajun tradition, I have recorded the Rosary in French, and in English.  Included on the inside cover are the prayers in French to make it easy to learn for those wishing to keep this holy tradition alive.

The CDs of rosary, both in French and English are available at Crossroads Book Store in Lafayette, The Rosary House in New Iberia, Cades Grocery in St. Martinville and Farmer’s Drugs in Youngsville, or of course, you can get them directly from me, $20 for French and $15 for English (please add $5.00 for postage), mail to 107  Beacon  Drive, Youngsville, LA 70592,USA

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. SR
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 18:21:49

    WHAT A WONDERFUL TESTIMONY OF LOVE THIS IS. GOD BLESS, SR

    Reply

  2. Marie Sonnier
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 09:23:08

    Thank you so much for doing this cd . I learned the OUR FATHER AND THE HAIL MARY but have yet to learn the the rest i have a tape but can not understand the lady well enough to say it on my own . I learned some of my prayers in french when sitting with my mom on her dieing bed. I have not had time to go get your cd yet but will get one soon .Thanks again for doing this i have a few of my friends that want to learn so i told them about you cd at crossroads . Hope i have helped you some . Love ya and again Thanks for doing this Marie Sonnier

    Reply

    • Joan Theriot-Broussard
      Mar 26, 2012 @ 07:33:49

      I printed the prayers in French on the inside cover of the CD to help people learn to pray in French. It is part of our rich heritage and should be preserved as much as we can. Thanks for your encouragement. I appreciate it.

      Reply

  3. Lou
    Jan 26, 2013 @ 12:04:51

    I have heard Joan’s version in French and it is beautifully done. I hope to learn from her cd to say the rosary in French one day. Thank you for keeping this tradition alive…God Bless

    Reply

Leave a Reply

