Autumn Spirituality


With the coming of autumn and the end of all the great summer activities, I feel a sense of “coming to the interior of my spirit”.  As some of the outdoor activites come to a close and I find myself looking to indoor projects to consider.  I am reluctant to let go of the outdoors but I realize that autumn is a time of dormancy and a time of releasing what was.  To me, autumn is a time of quiet, silence, and growth.  It’s a time to not only be inside but to look inside as well.

Take some time this fall, to sit quietly and look inside your spirit and see what needs tending.  As author, Joyce  Rupp says, “No new growth will come unless autumn agrees to let go of what has been.”  This is so true of our lives.  We are called to let go of the past, embrace the present season and allow God to take care of the future.  It is all in His hands.

I recently had my 61st birthday and approach the same age as my mother when she died.  I am reminded this autumn of my own mortality.  Some people don’t like this season because of trees losing their leaves and many of the summer plants and flowers die.  The falling leaves can make one feel sad or lonely.  They can be a reminder that we are called to let go of many things throughout our life.  Each time we have to surrender something, we connect with death and our own ultimate moment of letting so.

This season is a time to reflect on this reality.

It is in this season of autumn we are faced with questions we would probably prefer to avoid.

Who have I become?  Do I like who I have become?

Who and what do I value?

What do I believe about life after death?

What good have I done and has my life been worthwhile?

How do I want people to remember me?

Do I have unfinished  business?

Do the people I love know that I love them?  Have they heard these words from me?

Joyce Rupp reminds us that although autumn might seem to be a harsh reminder of death, we can also be encourage to enter into the mystery of eternal life.  We see autumn standing in surrender as the winds sweep her trees naked.   The frost browns her meadows and deadens her plants.  But a deeper truth is beneath the  appearance of death. 

So during this autumn, fall season I suggest that you not run from life’s changes and let go what keeps you from growing into the person you were created to be.  We must never forget that spring is not too far away and new life awaits us all.  God Bless.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Simone Dubois
    Oct 25, 2013 @ 15:01:08

    Joan, thanks so much for a wonderful reflection on such a meaningful season in our calendar year and in our liturgical cycle as well. I truly appreciate the wonderful reflection questions (which I plan to steal in some of my group ministries). They really zero in on what life is all about and the great advantage of taking time to reflect on where we are and where we are going in this journey.
    Thanks for sharing of yourself so generously. Simone

    Reply

  2. Loyce Thomas
    Oct 26, 2013 @ 11:34:40

    Love Fall-as much as Spring–Eccl 3:1-8

    1 Cor 2:2 Loyce Thomas

    Reply

  3. Michelle Gautreaux
    Nov 05, 2013 @ 12:25:39

    that was so beautifully inspiring!! thanks I needed that!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

