You’re going to the Nativity…are you ready?


I invite you into an imaginative contemplation using the style taught by St. Ignatius of Loyola. Ignatius teaches us to enter a scene in scripture as an observer, as one of the people in scripture or as in the contemplation I offer here as yourself. We take part in the scripture scene and hear the message God has intended for us,
So, take a quiet moment away from the shopping, decorating, cooking, and all the Christmas preparations and come to the nativity. There is a young girl there about to have a baby and she needs your help. You can decide which person you are called to be – the innkeeper, the husband, the girl, a passerby, an observer, or maybe the innkeeper’s wife.
This contemplation begins with the innkeeper telling the husband that he has no more rooms. All the rooms in his inn are filled with people who have come to Bethlehem in order to fulfill their requirements of the census called by Herod.
The husband is turning to leave, when the innkeeper tells him he can use their stable behind the inn. There are animals in it but it’s all he has to offer. The husband is grateful and accepts, glad to have the shelter.
As the husband leaves the innkeeper’s wife comes in, having just walked by the girl on the donkey, heavy with child.
She tells her husband ” How could send that man to the stables, didn’t he tell you his wife was going to have a baby, and it might be as soon as tonight?”
The husband replied “No, he didn’t tell me anything about a wife.”
So, his wife goes to gather her best linens and tells him “I’ll be in the stable with that couple. They are about to become a family. That young girl looks so tired and frightened. I bet this is her first child. I’m going help her so don’t look for me for a whole. I’m staying with her for as long as she needs me.”
The innkeeper’s wife goes to the stable just as the couple are settling in. She helps to gather straw and sets up a makeshift bed for them as she notices the girl is beginning to go into labor.
“Rest easy my lady, I’m here and I’m not leaving you. I can help you. I’ve had two babies of my own and know what to do.” instructs the woman.
They introduce themselves to each other. They talk about their lives, their husbands and mostly about their faith. As the night wears on, the woman is mid-wife to the young woman, Mary who has not become her friend.

(Imagine for yourself what that conversation would have been like. What would you like to say to her; to ask her? How would you care for her? )

As the baby is born, the older woman is wondering where all the music is coming from – seems to be coming from the sky – the heavens! She wonders who these three men are and where they came from. They say they came to worship their King. She looks at her new friend, Mary, and wonders at all this. As she begins to understand the meaning of this night, Mary takes her Son from the manger and offers him to the woman.
“May I introduce you to Jesus, my son, your King?” says Mary as she hands her son to the woman.

Ponder the scene:
Do you accept Jesus right away or is some hesitation to accept this precious gift? If you accept him, look into his eyes and allow him to see into your heart and love you unconditionally, just as you are! If there is hesitation, ask Jesus to show you why and heal whatever resistance there may be so that you can enjoy the fullness of his love!

Merry Christmas Mary, my friend. Thank you for bringing Jesus to me!

IMG_0003.JPG

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. liisa schell
    Dec 15, 2014 @ 18:50:41

    Hi Joan , MerryChristmas to you and your family. As I write this Spencer and I are in Kansas visiting our daughter Raina and her family. It’s great to be with our two grand sons, too. We arrived on December 3rd and will stay until December 28th. We drove and lucky for us the roads were like summer roads ; we are hoping the return will be ok as well.

    Merritt & Nathan will be taking care of our home while we are away. Nathan will shovel , if necessary and take in the mail. (so far no shovelling)

    Have a wonderful Christmas and a Happy New Year!

    Liisa & Spencer

    Date: Mon, 15 Dec 2014 15:25:46 +0000 To: liisa51@hotmail.com

    Reply

  2. Nelda Turner
    Dec 16, 2014 @ 05:26:21

    Hi Joan, Thank you for the beautiful meditation. It brings me “to” Jesus because it invites me to stop and pray as I read through it. I hope that your holidays are blessed and peaceful. Nelda

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Reply

  3. Nelda Turner
    Dec 16, 2014 @ 05:30:15

    A little more….. I just realized that the picture of Madonna and child is your needlepoint. They (mother and child) are beautiful. I would love to see it in person. If you remember, bring it to supervision.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Reply

  4. Suzanne Richard
    Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:45:05

    Merry Christmas Joan!!! May you have a peaceful, joyful time with family and friends. Thank you for the reflection on Christmas with Mother MaryJ See you next month. Suzanne

    Reply

  5. Arleen Orgeron
    Dec 22, 2014 @ 23:49:34

    Thank you for the beautiful meditation, Joan. Have a beautiful Christmas!
    Arleen

    Reply

Leave a Reply

